FORUM CITY SCHOOLS COMMUNITY
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome To The Club, Robert

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
VietVet View Drop Down
MUSA Council
MUSA Council

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VietVet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Welcome To The Club, Robert
    Posted: Jan 14 2011 at 7:08am
From the Opinion page in today's Journal.....

A GHOST TOWN

As a former resident of Middletown (38 years ago), I’m shocked and dismayed at the present condition of what was once truly an all-American city.

I graduated from Middletown High School in 1969, served a tour of duty in Vietnam and returned to my home town in 1971. As one who had spent his entire life to that point in Middletown, I was proud of how Middletown looked. It was a quaint, picturesque community, which looked like something straight out of the Saturday Evening Post. Yes, at that time, we Middletonians would even boast of how nice our town was with its clean streets and many shops and restaurants. Middletown literally felt good.

Due to personal reasons, I now find myself back in the home town of my youth. However, I’m appalled beyond belief at the disheveled and downright dirty condition of this once-beautiful city. I’ve returned to learn that the center of this town is no longer downtown but, instead, out by the freeway. ... What happened to this city? Where or who were the city planners? What kind of apathy has allowed such a thing to happen to what was once the pride of Ohio?

Today, the town has become a virtual ghost town. Central Avenue is a street no longer lined with shops bustling with activity. Instead, it’s dirty, filled with empty shells. ...